Why Should You Cancel Your VPN Subscription?
When you sign up for a VPN service, you’re agreeing to pay a certain amount each month. Whether you use the service or not, you’re committing to the contract. So if you ask yourself, “Why should I cancel my VPN subscription?” then the answer is rather simple: You shouldn’t. But here’s the catch: If you decide that you want out of your agreement with the VPN service, then you’ll have to cancel your subscription before the end of the month. Otherwise, you’ll be charged for an additional month.
If you’re wondering how to cancel a VPN subscription and get rid of the associated fees, then keep reading. Here’s how it can be done.
How to Cancel a VPN Subscription
If you have an active VPN subscription and you decide that you want to cancel it, then you’ll have to discontinue use of the service before the end of the month. Otherwise, you’ll be charged for an additional month. To avoid this, you can log in to your account and navigate to the ‘My Subscriptions’ page. From here you can cancel your VPN subscription if you meet the requirements. You can also view your billing information and make any necessary changes. Just remember, you’ll still be charged for the remainder of the current month.
The Requirements To Cancel A VPN Subscription
You have to meet the requirements to cancel your VPN subscription. These include the following:
- You have to be at least 18 years old
- You must have an active email address associated with your account
- You must have a debit or credit card on file
- You must provide a valid payment method
- You must not be banned from using the service
- You must not be using the service on a commercial basis (i.e. you aren’t selling it to others)
- The active subscription must be within the past year
Once Your VPN Subscription Is Cancelled, How Do You Stay Connected?
If you want to keep your internet connection private and secure, then you have two options. You can either purchase a standalone VPN router or you can connect to a trusted WiFi network. But keep in mind that the former is more secure than the latter. And remember, your VPN subscription will never truly be canceled. It will simply be suspended while you stay within the safe zone. This may be for a few weeks or a few months, depending on the situation.
Where Can You Go From Here?
Now that you’ve canceled your VPN subscription, you have the option of switching to another service or deleting your account. If you decide to switch to another service, then you can either pay for the year in advance or on a monthly basis. If you choose to delete your account, then you’ll need to navigate to the ‘My Account’ page and deactivate your profile. From here you can apply for a refund, if you’re eligible. But in either case, you’ll no longer have access to the service. So be sure to cancel any apps that you’ve downloaded from within the app, as these will also need to be deleted in order to get a full refund. And don’t forget: If you meet the requirements, you can always renew your subscription once it’s been suspended. The clock is always ticking, and so is your chance of being charged for an extra month.